Installation issue with epanet toolkit - python package

I am new to Python and tried to install the epanet toolkit python package, but failed to install.

I have tried ‘pip install owa-epanet’ first then received the error for scikit-build not found.
Then I tried ‘pip install scikit-build’ and ‘pip install cmake’ to solve the error.

But now I am stuck in the error shown in the figure when building wheels for the package. It seems that Visual Studio is required for building wheels in Python 3.8.

Not sure any other ways to get the package installed.

Would appreciate a lot if anyone has any advice.

Hi Jason, I’ve had similar experiences as owa-epanet has a few dependencies that need to be installed first. From your screenshot, skbuild is not present, so you’ll need to add that. As you said, you’ll also need to instal visual studio and swig.

It’s a bit of a faff, but it will build eventually.

Best,
Gareth

Thanks Gareth for your reply.

I have installed those packages above as well as Visual Studio. But I am still having errors below:

(base) D:\Python Projects\EPANET>pip install owa-epanet
Collecting owa-epanet
Using cached owa-epanet-2.2.3.tar.gz (800 kB)
Building wheels for collected packages: owa-epanet
Building wheel for owa-epanet (setup.py) … error
ERROR: Command errored out with exit status 1:
command: ‘d:\miniconda3\python.exe’ -u -c ‘import sys, setuptools, tokenize; sys.argv[0] = ‘"’"‘C:\Users\qzhao4\AppData\Local\Temp\pip-install-3fh3agz_\owa-epanet_92c43eb6cc0d4f60ab077f9c173c0ac
f\setup.py’"’"’; file=’"’"‘C:\Users\qzhao4\AppData\Local\Temp\pip-install-3fh3agz_\owa-epanet_92c43eb6cc0d4f60ab077f9c173c0acf\setup.py’"’"’;f=getattr(tokenize, ‘"’"‘open’"’"’, open)(file
);code=f.read().replace(’"’"’\r\n’"’"’, ‘"’"’\n’"’"’);f.close();exec(compile(code, file, ‘"’"‘exec’"’"’))’ bdist_wheel -d ‘C:\Users\qzhao4\AppData\Local\Temp\pip-wheel-tczhhkxs’
cwd: C:\Users\qzhao4\AppData\Local\Temp\pip-install-3fh3agz_\owa-epanet_92c43eb6cc0d4f60ab077f9c173c0acf