Optimization with genetic algorithm

Hi,

I’ve some problems in the application of genetic algorithm for network emitter calibration. I’m a PhD researcher and I’m working on emitter calibration for large networks with epanet and Matlab r2015b (x86). After some iterations (depending on population size of algorithm) the file epanet2.dll shows problems. I mean that after some iteration I have this error “error 305 cannot open hydraulics file” so I must stop the simulation, close matlab and copy/replace the .dll file.
Can someone help me?
(I’m working with 32bit epanet-toolkit and 32bit Matlab on Windows10 64bit)

Thanks

Error using ENinitH(1), but not ENinitH(0)

I believe the problem is caused by EPANET’s use of the C library function tmpnam() to create a new temporary hydraulics file name for each iteration of your genetic algorithm. The tmpnam() function generates a different string each time it is called, up to TMP_MAX times. If it is called more than TMP_MAX times, the behavior is implementation defined.TMP_MAX is defined in the C library header stdio.h which is 32767 for Microsoft C.

I can suggest two possible work-arounds you could try:

1. Request that EPANET save the hydraulic results from each run to a file whose name you supply, even though you won’t be making use of the file. This can be done either in the input file you use for your analysis, by adding a line: HYDRAULICS SAVE filename to the [OPTIONS] section where filename is the full path name of the file you want to use. Or you could call ENsavehydfile(filename) prior to starting your genetic algorithm.
  2. Instead of calling ENsolveH() to evaluate your hydraulics at each iteration, use the call sequence:
    ENinitH(0);
    do {
        ENrunH(&t);
        // retrieve hydraulic results here
        ENnextH(&tstep);
    } while (tstep > 0);

and prior to starting your genetic algorithm call ENopenH(). This option will be the more efficient alternative.

Lew Rossman